The regional county municipality of Nicolet-Yamaska was created in 1981, replacing the two former counties of Nicolet and Yamaska. At the heart of the St. Laurent Lowlands, Nicolet-Yamaska is bordered on one side by the Lac Saint-Pierre World Biosphere Reserve and crisscrossed by the Nicolet and Saint-François Rivers. As you make your way through the region, 16 towns and villages and a native reserve recount the history that has forged our traditions.
Our natural treasures provide opportunities to enjoy the great outdoors, both on land and on the water. The UNESCO Lac Saint-Pierre World Biosphere Reserve reveals an unparalleled aquatic environment, where humans live in harmony with the local flora and fauna. Nicolet-Yamaska is a bucolic region known for being a cyclist’s paradise. The Route Verte no. 4 cuts through the area for nearly 70 kilometres, with over 400 kilometres of bike paths running alongside country roads. The agricultural landscape bears testament to the passion of local farmers. The food grown, raised and produced in our area make up our terroir, a true garden of flavour delights. Art, history, the Abenaki culture, and religions from the four corners of the world live side-by-side in our museums and galleries. The festivals and events that call our region home are unique, dynamic expressions of who we are.
Additional information: www.mrcnicolet-yamaska.qc.ca.
Municipalities in the region
Presentation of villages:
1300 rue Principale, Aston-Jonction, G0Z 1A0, Quebec
At the crossroads of the Grand Trunk Railway and the main Quebec City–Montreal line of the Canadian National Railway, Aston-Jonction was officially established in 1916 on a vast, fertile and relatively flat terroir. Aston-Jonction, which is locally referred to as simply “Aston,” is home to a charming parish church, built in 1931, where a Casavant organ from the Petit Séminaire de Nicolet resonates divinely. It is also where Françoise Gaudet-Smet (Gaudetbourg) had lived for several years. Today, her residence remains the pride of the village.
298 route Marie-Victorin, Baie-du-Febvre, J0G 1A0, Quebec
Telephone: 450 783-6422
Fax: 450 783-6423
Located on the spring migration route of snow geese, Baie-du-Febvre is renowned for its exceptional birdlife and is fast becoming a popular artistic community. In fact, the municipality is home to the only public amphitheatre in Nicolet-Yamaska. As well, Baie-du-Febvre stands out for the quality of its soils, which have benefited local farmers for more than 300 years. The municipality is also bustling with some 45 industries and businesses.
Odanak First Nations Reserve
102 rue Sibosis, Odanak, J0G 1H0, Quebec
Telephone: 450 568-2810
Fax: 450 568-3553
For more than 300 years, the Abenaki people have lived in Odanak, a First Nations community on the Saint-François River. This thousand-year-old nation continues their traditional activities which you can observe during the annual Odanak Pow-Wow that takes place the first weekend of July. Enjoy dancing, singing and traditional food shared with members of the community, made up of 300 Abenaki residents. When you arrive in Odanak, be sure to visit the Abenaki Museum, Quebec’s first Aboriginal museum, and get to know the artisans and their boutiques.
Population: 299 Abenakis
5410 rue Principale, Grand-Saint-Esprit, J0G 1B0, Quebec
Telephone: 819 289-2410
Fax: 819 289-2029
Grand-Saint-Esprit is a rural municipality shaped like a quadrangle with long parallel lines on two sides. A double row bordered by mostly single-family properties, farms and a few businesses, the area is located in the upper South Shore of the St. Laurent River and is bounded by five parishes. The village is ideal for enjoying leisure activities, with playgrounds, a recreation and craft centre, cross-country skiing and snowshoeing trails, and hiking paths, which make it a welcoming, relaxing place to visit.
21 rue Principale, La Visitation-de-Yamaska, J0G 1C0, Quebec
Telephone: 450 564-2818
Fax: 450 564-9923
Founded in 1899, the municipality is mostly characterized by its agricultural activities, though in recent years more and more people have come to live here, drawn by its peacefulness and beautiful landscape. La Visitation-de-Yamaska welcomes various groups year-round who find the area ideal for holding all sorts of activities, often renting out the recreation centre (formerly the village school). Thanks to the financial support generated by the annual Tractor Pull in late August, as well as the involvement of numerous volunteers, a multipurpose skating rink was established in 2008 to the delight of residents and visitors. The people of La Visitation-de-Yamaska, locally referred to as “Visitandines” and “Visitandins,” are welcoming, warm and community-minded. Come and visit!
180 rue Monseigneur Panet, Nicolet, J3T 1S6, Quebec
Telephone: 819 293-6901
Fax: 819 293-6767
Nicolet was named after Jean Nicolet de Belleborne, the man who discovered it. Founded in 1672, it was called Saint-Jean-Baptiste de Nicolet at the time. The town is easy to access thanks to its privileged location in Centre-du-Québec. Nestled at the junction of the Nicolet River and the mouth of Lac Saint-Pierre, Nicolet offers a variety of tourist attractions, activities and services in a pastoral setting that is rich with history. Energetic business people and numerous community, cultural and sports organizations play an active role in contributing to the town’s quality of life.
26 rue Ally, Pierreville, J0G 1J0, Quebec
Telephone: 450 568-2139
Fax: 450 568-0689
Located at the confluence of the Saint-François River and Lac Saint-Pierre, Pierreville benefits from its enchanting setting, which is incredibly favourable for agriculture. The fire truck industry also plays in important role in the municipality’s development. Its rich past mixed with the charms of its natural landscape and welcoming people make Pierreville an enjoyable place to visit or live. Named a “World Biosphere Reserve,” Lac Saint-Pierre promises a prosperous future for tourism and general development.
990 rang Pays-Brûlé, Saint-Célestin, J0G 1G0, Quebec
Telephone: 819 229-3745
Fax: 819 229-1386
The municipality of Saint-Célestin Parish is mostly home to agricultural activities. Several farms have been handed down from generation to generation, and the economy is composed of numerous businesses that provide services related to this base industry. There is also a historical site dating back to 1905—the magnificent covered bridge over the Blanche River. It is named Étienne-Poirier Bridge in honour of a pioneer who passed away many years ago. Visit the municipality and you’ll discover a peaceful, charming place where it is a delight to live, with a welcoming, close-knit community.
510 rue Marquis, Saint-Célestin, J0G 1G0, Quebec
Telephone: 819 229-3642
Fax: 819 229-1149
Situated halfway between the cities of Victoriaville, Drummondville and Trois-Rivières, and near the main highways 20, 30, 40 and 55, the municipality of Village de Saint-Célestin enjoys an exceptional location.
245 rang Saint-Antoine, Saint-Elphège, J0G 1J0, Quebec
Telephone: 450 568-0288
Saint-Elphège is a beautiful little village located on the Saint-François River, and was originally established by several families who arrived from Old France. The village allows you to take full advantage of nature, with its cycling route in summer and snowmobile and ATV trails in winter.
400 rue Notre-Dame, C.P. 60, Saint-François-du-Lac, J0G 1M0, Quebec
Telephone: 450 568-2124
Fax: 450 568-7465
Seasonal: From St. Jean Baptiste Day to Labour Day
Thursday to Sunday, from 10:00 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.
Still relatively unknown by many, the Bas Saint-François region offers magnificent landscapes and bountiful natural scenery on the Saint-François River. From town to town, discover charming villages and enjoy the region’s various attractions and the warm welcome of Bas Saint-François, a corner of Quebec that’s definitely worth a visit.
370 rue Principale, Saint-Léonard-d’Aston, J0G 1M0, Québec
Telephone: 819 399-2596
Fax: 819 399-2333
Centrally located between three cities (Drummondville, Trois-Rivières and Victoriaville), Saint-Léonard d’Aston boasts a variety of exceptional services that make it a fast-growing village while enjoying all the charms of the country. Discover this beautiful municipality that’s a true pleasure to visit and live in!
1065 rue Richard, Saint-Wenceslas, G0Z 1J0, Quebec
Telephone: 819 224-7784
Fax: 819 224-4036
It all began in 1856, when the main road (Route 161) was established. Saint-Wenceslas was canonically established the next year, in 1857, by Monsignor Cooke, the Bishop of Trois- Rivières. The first session of his council took place on August 1, 1864, under the direction of Mayor Grégoire Poirier. In 1922, the village split from the municipality. Then, on October 11, 1995, a new municipality was created by amalgamating the former municipality and the village of Saint-Wenceslas. And now, it’s your turn to continue the story!
1471 rang St-Pierre, Saint-Zéphirin-de-Courval, J0G 1V0, Quebec
Telephone: 450 564-2188
Fax: 450 564-2339
Located midway between Drummondville and Nicolet, Saint-Zéphirin de Courval extends over 71 square kilometres, more than 90% of which is dedicated to the production of agriculture, dairy, pork and other types of farming. Fine businesses passed down from generation to generation.
757 rang des Bouleaux, Sainte-Eulalie, G0Z 1E0, Quebec
Telephone: 819 225-4345
Fax: 819 225-4078
In addition to developing an industrial park and business area at the intersection of highways 20 and 55, the municipality of Sainte-Eulalie stands out for its agritourism attractions that offer a variety of local products, as well as its unique cultural events. Sainte-Eulalie, an agricultural municipality, is also renowned for its antique stores, located on the Route des Antiquaires.
247 rue Principale, Sainte-Monique, J0G 1N0, Quebec
Telephone: 819 289-2051
Fax: 819 289-2344
Located near Routes 226 and 259, this little village offers an incredible view of the Nicolet River, its endless dells and the various attractions of Nicolet-Yamaska. A calm, wholesome community in the country, yet just a few steps from town—the best of both worlds!
2197 Saint-Joseph, Sainte-Perpétue, J0C 1R0, Quebec
Telephone: 819 336-6740
Fax: 819 336-6747
Located near Route 259 and Highway 20, Sainte-Perpétue offers beautiful agricultural scenery. This little village is very popular in summer for its Festival du Cochon, a family event that features the famous greased pig race, various sports competitions as well as several shows by well-known artists.